Supreme Court recommends 4 permanent judges for Allahabad High Court

      Comments Off on Supreme Court recommends 4 permanent judges for Allahabad High Court


NEW DELHI: The Supreme Court of India Collegium has recommended appointment of four additional judges of the Allahabad High Court as permanent judges.

The collegium, comprising Chief Justice Dipak Misra and justices J Chelameswar and Ranjan Gogoi, also recommended that one additional judge of the Manipur High Court, at present functioning on transfer in the Gauhati High Court, be made a permanent judge.

The four judges whose names have been recommended are Ashok Kumar, Vivek Chaudhary, Saumitra Dayal Singh and Akhilesh Chandra Sharma.

The name of Justice Songkhupchung Serto of Manipur High Court has been recommended for a permanent judge there.

The collegium, in its resolution, has also said that the recommendation for appointment of Justice Serto be processed expeditiously as his term expires on March 13.

The resolution also clarified that Justice Serto would continue to function in the Gauhati High Court.

The collegium said that the proposal regarding the transfer of another high court judge to Manipur High Court would be considered later.

“We have also taken note of the observations of the Department of Justice made in the file with regard to proposal for transfer of some other high court judge to Manipur High Court in view of depleted strength of judges in that high court.

“The proposal for transfer, in terms of the Memorandum of Procedure, would be considered by the collegium comprising the Chief Justice of India and four senior-most judges of the Supreme Court, in due course of time,” the resolution said.

Source: Press Trust of India