BJP appoints in-charges for poll-bound Maharashtra, Jharkahnd

      Comments Off on BJP appoints in-charges for poll-bound Maharashtra, Jharkahnd

NEW DELHI: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Amit Shah on Friday appointed Bhupendra Yadav and Om Prakash Mathur as the election in-charges of Maharashtra and Jharkhand respectively.

These leaders would be playing an important role in the party organization during the election time.

Elections are due in Jharkhand, Maharashtra, and Haryana this year while Delhi will go to polls in January next year.

The BJP made Bhupendra Yadav as in-charge of Maharashtra.

Uttar Pradesh Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya and former Karnataka MLA Laxman Sabhi have been appointed as co-in charge to assist Yadav.

In 2014 Assembly polls in Maharashtra, BJP won 122 out of 288 assembly seats. Shiv Sena won on 63 constituencies and Congress and NCP managed to get 42 and 21 seats.

Om Mathur will look into the affairs of Jharkhand where Raghubar Das is the Chief Minister. He is the first Chief Minister of the state completing his term.

In Jharkhand, the BJP is in alliance with former Minister Sudesh Mahato’s All Jharkhand Students Union. The Congress and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha of Shibu Soren are in alliance.

Bihar Minister and senior BJP leader Nand Kishore Yadav has been appointed co-incharge for Jharkhand under Mathur.