AIADMK nominees file Rajya Sabha poll papers


AIADMK nominees file Rajya Sabha poll papers

CHENNAI: The ruling AIADMK’s candidates A Mohammedjan and N Chandrasekaran and its ally PMK’s nominee Anbumani Ramadoss on Monday filed their nominations for the July 18 biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha.nn

nnAll the three candidates filed their nomination papers with returning officer and secretary, Tamil Nadu Assembly Legislative Assembly Secretariat, K Srinivasan in the presence of Chief Minister K Palaniswami and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam and senior ministers.nnMohammedjan was a former minister (2011-13) for backward classes and minorities welfare in the cabinet of former chief minister, late J Jayalalithaa.nnChandrasekaran is a long time party functionary and AIADMK’s Mettur (Salem suburban party district) town party secretary.nnAs per a pre-Lok Sabha poll pact with Pattali Makkal Katchi, the AIADMK has allotted one RS seat to it.nnThere are six vacancies to the Upper House from Tamil Nadu and elections are scheduled on July 18 in case of a contest.nnTwo nominees from the DMK and one belonging to its ally MDMK (Vaiko) have already filed their nominations.nnAs a precautionary measure, DMK has fielded one more candidate N R Elango -in view of Vaiko being convicted in a sedition case- to ensure its presence in the poll fray in the unlikely event of rejection of the MDMK chief’s nomination when papers are taken up for scrutiny on July 9.nnBased on the respective strength of ruling AIADMK and main opposition DMK, the two parties can elect three candidates each.nnSource: Press Trust of India

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.