Uddhav Thackeray and 4 other candidates file nomination for MLC polls


Uddhav Thackeray and 4 other candidates file nomination for MLC polls

NEW DELHI: Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray and four other candidates from the ruling alliance filed their nominations on Monday for the May 21 MLC polls.nnThe chief minister, who is currently not a member of either of the Houses of the state Legislature, submitted his nomination papers to the election officer here.nn

nnHe was accompanied by his wife Rashmi Thackeray, son and state Cabinet minister Aaditya Thackeray and Shiv Sena’s Rajya Sabha member Sanjay Raut.nnNeelam Gorhe, the deputy chairperson of Maharashtra Legislative Council, also filed her nomination papers from the Shiv Sena.nnBesides, NCP leaders Shashikant Shinde and Amol Mitkari and Congress’ Rajesh Rathod also filed their papers.nnElections for nine seats of the state Legislative Council are scheduled on May 21.nnThe ruling Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi, comprising the Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress, has fielded five candidates.nnChief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, who is also president of the Shiv Sena, is set to enter the Legislative Council unopposed as the Congress on Sunday announced that it would withdraw one of its two nominees.nnThe opposition BJP has announced four candidates – Ranjitsinh Mohite Patil, Gopichand Padalkar, Praveen Datke and Ajit Gopchhade – who filed their nominations on Friday.nnMonday is the last day for filing nominations. The scrutiny of papers will take place on Tuesday and the last date for withdrawal of papers is May 14.nnSource: Press Trust of India

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.