Yediyurappa sworn in as Karnataka Chief Minister


Yediyurappa sworn in as Karnataka Chief Minister

BENGALURU: Karnataka BJP president B S Yediyurappa was sworn in as Chief Minister of the state for the fourth time on Friday.nnGovernor Vajubhai Vala administered the oath of office and secrecy to the 76-year old Yediyurappa at a ceremony at the Raj Bhavan.nnYediyurappa alone was sworn-in.nn

nnYediyurappa-led BJP ministry is assuming office three days after the collapse of the Congress-JD(S) government with the defeat of the motion of confidence moved by chief minister H D Kumaraswamy in the assembly by 99-105 votes.nnIn a sudden development on Friday morning, Yeddyurappa met the Governor to stake the claim and requested him to administer the oath of office and secrecy Friday itself, following which Vala invited him to form the government.nnBefore the swearing in, Yediyurappa said he would decide on members to be inducted into the ministry after consulting party president Amit Shah.nnThis is the fourth stint for Yediyurappa as the Chief Minister– the last one was after the May 2018 Assembly polls, when he barely lasted three days after being sworn in.nnSource: Press Trust of India

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.