YSRCP Lok Sabha MP Sri Krishna Devarayalu quits party, 3rd party lawmaker to do so this month


AMARAVATI: The ruling YSRCP Lok Sabha member L Sri Krishna Devarayalu on Tuesday resigned from the party as well as the Parliament He represented Narasaraopeta constituency in Andhra Pradesh.He is the third YSRCP MP to leave the party since January 10.

“I have resigned from the YSRCP and Lok Sabha also,” Devarayalu told PTI.

The time has come to put an end to months-long ‘drama’ over the party’s plans to change his constituency, he said adding that the Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy-led YSRCP was planning to shift him to a different constituency, but he didn’t want to move from Narasaraopeta.

The 40-year-old politician noted that the ‘drama’ has been going on for the past six months within the party but came to light only recently.

“They were dilly-dallying… I wanted to put an end to this whole drama.” He, however, maintained that he had neither thought about his next move nor any political party had reached out to him yet.

Devarayalu’s resignation comes close on the heels of Machilipatnam YSRCP MP Balashowry Vallabhaneni and others quitting the party.

Meanwhile, Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly Speaker Tammineni Sitaram accepted the resignation of TDP leader and Visakhapatnam North MLA G Srinivasa Rao, three years after he tendered it.

Rao resigned in February, 2021, protesting the central government’s decision to disinvest Rashtriya Ispat Nigam Ltd (Vizag Steel Plant).

On January 13, Vallabhaneni Balashowry (Machilipatnam) announced his resignation before meeting Jana Sena Party chief Pawan Kalyan and expressing his interest in joining the party. Sanjeev Kumar (Kurnool), who announced his resignation on January 10, said he could not do anything for his constituency’s development. Balashowry and Kumar were denied tickets for the 2024 Lok Sabha polls.

Another Lok Sabha member, Magunta Srinivasulu Reddy (Ongole), was also expected to leave the party, which won 22 Lok Sabha seats in 2019, as he was unlikely to receive a ticket.

Members of Parliament Gorantla Madhav (Hindupur) and Kotagiri Sridhar (Eluru) have both been denied tickets. The seats of Goddeti Madhavi (Araku), M V V Satyanarayana (Visakhapatnam), M Gurumurthy (Tirupati), Margani Bharat (Rajahmundry), Vanga Geetha (Kakinada), and N Reddappa (Chittoor) have been reversed.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.